I’ve Been Communing with Nature

Robert Treman Park 2013 033             Robert Treman Park 2013 038

Robert Treman Park 2013 034             Robert Treman Park 2013 028

I haven’t posted in a long time, but it isn’t because I don’t love this blog or writing in general.  I have been communing with nature with my family.  We recently got back from a trip to Robert Treman State Park in Ithaca, NY.  This park has been a key figure in my life for a long time.  In the later part of my childhood, this place was the only time it seemed my family was normal and got along.  I wasn’t embarrassed by my creepy step-father and my mother wasn’t a drunk.  I swam in these waters as a child and it was important, for some reason, that I swim here again with my own daughter.

Life has been pretty hectic.  Work is very busy, the house is a mess, the cat isn’t well, and I am in the midst of a divorce (finally, after 5 years).  Trying to balance everything with a tween mixed in there that has more hormones than either of us know what to do with is pretty tiring.  But nature sometimes lets me purge that from my mind despite the mountain of work it is just to brew a pot of coffee or make a meal.  It is a different kind of work, a different kind of tired.

Before this trip, I started corresponding with my father again.  We have had an on and off existence for my whole life and sometimes I forget that I have this one life with him and need to set aside any sort of pain and anger I have or I will miss the time I have left with him.  It was nice reading his letter before we left.  On this trip, I realized that I am more like him than my mother and as I have aged it becomes more apparent to me.  I used to love cities and the bustle.  I loved lights and action and loud music.  Now I would rather move farther out into the country where the only music is the sound of nature’s own biorhythm mixed with our daily lives.  I would have never thought I would be in this place 10 years ago.

After this trip, I decided it would be great to record all the things of interest that happened while we camped.  I bought a blank artist’s book yesterday and started filling in our adventures with funny anecdotes, camping woes, finds in nature, realizations, and trail maps.  I might even throw in some pictures too.  This old brain isn’t what it used to be.  I’m going to be thankful in the future that it all hasn’t slipped away into the ether.

Now that school is coming back into view, I am hoping to have more time to dedicate to keeping this blog up to date.  More time writing is always a good thing.  Thanks for hanging in there with me.

Leave a Reply

